You Will Know Me, Megan Abbott – Book Review

I received You Will Know Me in exchange for an honest review

This was my first experience with Megan Abbott, and I’m now keen to go back and tackle her back catalogue. You will know me is a well-crafted, slow-burning contemporary thriller packed with secrets, lies and paranoia.

youwillknowme

Katie and Eric Knox are dedicated parents: they’ve committed everything they can into ensuring that their talented gymnast daughter Devon succeeds. Their lives are built around spending hours ferrying Devon to and from practice, supporting her in any way they can, but, when a sudden death rocks their small community, everything – and crucially Devon’s future prospects – is thrown into the balance.

This book wasn’t quite was I expected. I knew I was reading a thriller, but I didn’t expect a book which quite so deftly captured all the subtleties in life. You Will Know Me is at once a domestic noir, an examination of the trials and tensions of life as an athlete, and a straight-forward murder mystery. Above all, what Megan Abbott does brilliantly is character studies – each of the main characters was well-drawn, sympathetic and yet not entirely trustworthy.

An adult book which focuses on teenagers can be difficult to get right, but Abbott does it perfectly. This is certainly far too twisted and intelligent to fit the teenage thriller market, and yet the author does a fantastic job of bringing to life the darker side of teenage girls and it’s perfectly set in this incredibly competitive environment.

This wasn’t necessarily the most gripping or dramatic thriller I’ve read this year, it’s a slow burner. Abbott gradually builds the tension, adding layer upon layer of intrigue through complex character development. I was right there with Katie with no idea who to trust until the big reveal, and even then things may not all be quite as they seem. A perfect book for those who love a subtle thriller which will toy with your mind and your emotions.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Drama, Mystery, Thriller

2 responses to “You Will Know Me, Megan Abbott – Book Review

  1. This is the first review I’ve read of this book and I’m glad to hear such high praise for it. I’ll definitely be adding it to my TBR list. Thanks.

  2. I have heard about the author but not this book. Sounds great.

Leave a Reply

