Mid-Year Review: My favourite books read in 2016 so far

MID-

It’s that time again, where we all wonder where has the year gone? And, we get to look back on the books we’ve read so far. Last year at about this time, I did a mid-year review of my top 5 books. This year, I couldn’t narrow it down, so I’m cheating. There’s six.

In 2015 I’d read 36 books by this point. The beginning of this year hasn’t been as strong, I’ve read just 30 books so far. But I have read some longer novels, and got around to some I’ve been meaning to read for years, so I’m happy.

Here’s my top six (covers link to my review or Goodreads).

thegirls

This was one of the most-hyped releases of this summer and, to me, it completely lived up to that hype. Telling the story of a teenager in the 1960s who falls in with a group loosely based upon the Manson family, this was a fascinating twist on the classic coming-of-age story. It’s not a comfortable read, but there’s something special about it.

thefireman

This bold, epic, emotional dystopian novel was completely unique. Weaving emotional drama and relationships against the backdrop of a stark, post-pandemic future complete with a self-combustion disease, it’s sheer genius.

secrethistory

This is a book that I’ve been wanting to read for years. I finally got around to it this year, and it didn’t disappoint. This was an engrossing, intelligent slow-burn of a thriller, one I won’t forget in one time.

A Darker Shade final for Irene

I read this book off the back of all the hype from other bloggers, and you were all so right! V.E. Schwabb’s world-building is so imaginative, and the plot-line is so fast paced. This fantasy novel is escapism at its best.

you

I read a lot of psychological thrillers but this one really stood out. Written in the second person, You invites the reader into the mind of a psychopath, and it’s a gripping, entertaining read.

ballroom

This one seems very underrated but I absolutely fell in love with it. Just the cover alone is gorgeous, but there’s a story in there which lives up to it. A powerful romance set against the backdrop of of an asylum in the early 1900s, this book combines heart-wrenching drama with a fascinating look at the history of mental illness.

Did any of these make your list? Can you recommend me any 2016 releases I’m missing out on? Let me know in the comments below. Thanks for visiting!

6 Comments

Filed under Book Lists

6 responses to “Mid-Year Review: My favourite books read in 2016 so far

  1. Yvo

    I completely agree when it comes to ADSOM! Most of the other titles are already on my TBR; it looks like I will be having something to look forward to. Great post!

  2. I’m with you on The Ballroom, an outstanding read which doesn’t appear to have garnered the attention it deserves

    • Definitely. I tend to sometimes be guilty of judging books by how many ratings they have/how popular they are on Goodreads. So glad I have The Ballroom a try though as its a beautiful book.

  3. The Ballroom looks so interesting. The cover is just so pretty. And I’m easily persuaded by good cover art!
    The Girls looks so good. I’m trying to decide whether or not The Girls is worth spending my Amazon settlement money upon.

    • I know that cover is gorgeous! I really enjoyed The Girls, although it might not be for everyone, I definitely reckon it’s worth a read 🙂

Leave a Reply

