Top Ten Tuesday | My most recent 5 star reads

TTT

This week I’m participating in Top Ten Tuesday by The Broke and The Bookish. Today’s prompt is top ten recent five star reads – I’m excited to reminisce about some of the favourites from books I’ve read recently! All covers link to Goodreads plus there’s links to my reviews too.

darker

I just finished this last week and loved it! This one completely lived up to the hype. I will NOT be leaving it as long to read the next one.

you

My Review

This was a chilling, original read told from the point of view of a loveable psychopath. It was completely different to anything else I’ve read this year, and I can’t wait to read the sequel!

ballroom

My Review

The Ballroom was a complete surprise, I fell in love with it. Set in 1900s asylum, The Ballroom is a heartfelt story, beautifully written with complex, well-drawn characters and a fascinating historical backdrop. I couldn’t ask for much more from a book.

darkestsecret

My Review

This was a great way to start 2016; a twisted psychological thriller/mystery packed with complex family secrets and despicable characters.

azkaban

This was a re-read over Christmas – you can’t go wrong with Harry Potter, the entire series are all five star books to me!

nos4a2

My Review

This was my Halloween read last year and my first experience of Joe Hill’s writing – and I’m aiming to make sure it’s not my last! A dark, twisted supernatural tale I won’t forget in a hurry.

alice

I think I read this children’s classic way back when I was younger, but I read through both Alice In Wonderland and Through The Looking Glass last year and I loved this wonderful tale of adventure. It’s definitely one everyone should read!

martian

My Review

Mark Watney’s disastrous Mars mission makes for one of the most heartwarming, inspirational stories of survival against all odds I’ve ever had the please of reading.

everything

My Review

This YA contemporary romance about a girl confined to her home by a rare illness stood out from the crowd for me. Just adorable.

version

My Review

This gorgeous romance with a twist attempts to answer the question What if? It’s elegant, thought-provoking and unique, probably in the top three books I read last year.

9 Comments

Filed under Book Memes, Top Ten Tuesdays

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday | My most recent 5 star reads

  1. You has a chilling cover. I wasn’t a huge fan of Nos4a2, but the narrator (listened via audiobook) definitely gave it at an added level of creepiness. Good choices. My TTT

  2. Great list! I really want to read A Darker Shade of Magic and You! The Ballroom looks interesting as well! And The Martian is simply the best!

    • Those two had both been on my list for ages and I finally got around to reading them after the sequels were released. So glad I did, I’d definitely recommend! 🙂

  3. A Darker Shade of Magic is on my immediate TBR! I’ve been hearing good things about it since the sequel was published recently, and I’m keen to get on to it soon, especially since you rated it 5 stars. Great choices this week! 🙂

  4. A Darker Shade of Magic is one of my new favorites! I’m kind of glad I waited a while to read it because now I don’t have to wait for the second! The perks of procrastination, haha! I also adored Everything, Everything! I agree, it definitely stands out of the crowd. Great list!

    My TTT 🙂

  5. Yay for Alice in Wonderland. That book is so magical! I really need to read You it sounds so interesting. I read the first few chapters and I really liked it. I also need to read the Shades of Magic series!

    My TTT

  6. How CLEVER was Versions of Us?! Amazing book.
    I have The Ballroom in my TBR stack *moves it up the pile*
    Here’s my TTT – https://booksaremyfavouriteandbest.wordpress.com/2016/03/29/if-ive-said-it-once-ive-said-it-a-hundred-times-read-these-books/

Leave a Reply

