Help me choose! | 5 authors on my TBR

AUTHORS

As part of my 2016 reading resolutions there are quite a few new-to-me authors I would love to try. These are those authors that are already incredibly well-established, even award-winning, but for whatever reason they’ve passed me by for years despite the fact that I think I’d probably love their books.

I think I just focus on the books too often and don’t think about the people behind them. It’s nice to take more of a look at how the authors describe themselves

I thought I’d list them here so maybe some more people can find an author who could be a new favourite and so you lovely people of the blogosphere could tell me who you think I should read first, please!.  I’d love to hear all comments on these new-to-me authors.

.

Neil Gaiman

Website awards summary

Neil Gaiman’s work has been honoured with many awards internationally, including the Newbery and Carnegie Medals. His books and stories have also been honoured with 4 Hugos, 2 Nebulas, 1 World Fantasy Award, 4 Bram Stoker Awards, 6 Locus Awards, 2 British SF Awards, 1 British Fantasy Award, 3 Geffens, 1 International Horror Guild Award and 2 Mythopoeic Awards. 

Why I want to read

I just feel like I should have read this author already. So many people I know love his books, but I think he passed me by for a while because I only really started enjoying the fantasy genre in the last couple of year.  His 2013 release The Ocean At The End Of The Lane caught my eye when it was released, and now I have that and his debut, Stardust, to read. Where should I start?!

Books I own (click on any cover to see the Goodreads page)

ocean stardust

 

 

Sarah Waters

Goodreads summary

Sarah Waters is a British novelist. She is best known for her first novel, Tipping the Velvet, as well the novels that followed, including Affinity, Fingersmith, and The Night Watch.

Why I want to read

The historical genre has really grown on me lately, and this author seems to be one of the best around. She’s been shortlisted for various awards, and I think it’s time I gave her a try. Plus, the quote on on that book down there does say she’s one of the best storytellers alive today!

Books I own

fingersmith little stranger

Patrick Ness

Goodreads summary

Patrick Ness, an award-winning novelist, has written for England’s Radio 4 and Sunday Telegraph and is a literary critic for The Guardian. He has written many books, including the Chaos Walking Trilogy, The Crash of Hennington, Topics About Which I Know Nothing, and A Monster Calls. He has won numerous awards, including the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize, the Booktrust Teenage Prize, and the Costa Children’s Book Award.

Why I want to read

I somehow had never heard of Patrick Ness until last year, when bloggers talking about The Rest Of Us Just Live Here caught my eye. Now, he seems to be everywhere and I know so many people love him! I have a couple of his older releases on my Kindle – all recommendations are welcome.

Books I own

knifenever  cranewife

 

Donna Tartt

Goodreads summary

Donna Tartt (born 23 December 1963) is an American writer who received critical acclaim for her first two novels, The Secret History (1992) and The Little Friend (2002). Tartt was the 2003 winner of the WH Smith Literary Award for The Little Friend.

Why I want to read

I’ve wanted to read The Secret History for years. The idea of dark secrets at an elitist college really appeals to me, and this book is so highly rated by everyone I’ve spoken to about it. I actually now have all three of her novels bought from various places over the years, so I really need to make a start on them soon!

Books I own

goldfinch  littlefriend  secrethistory

 

 

Matt Haigh

Goodreads summary

Matt Haig was born in Sheffield, England in1975. He writes books for both adults and children, often blending the worlds of domestic reality and outright fantasy, with a quirky twist. His bestselling novels are translated into 28 languages. The Guardian has described his writing as ‘delightfully weird’ and the New York Times has called him ‘a novelist of great talent’ whose writing is ‘funny, riveting and heartbreaking’.

Why I want to read

Everything Matt Haig releases sounds so intriguing and unique. Again, I’ve heard so many good things about him from bloggers, I need to give him a try. I just have one of his books, so at least there will be no confusion about where to start with this one!

thehumans

I’ve never done anything like this on the blog before but I’m really excited to hear all of your thoughts! Have you read any of these? Have I listed your favourite author here, or your favourite book? Let me know what you think I should read first in the comments below.

8 Comments

Filed under Book Lists

8 responses to “Help me choose! | 5 authors on my TBR

  1. Neil Gaiman! I haven’t read either of the books that you listed, but I LOVED The Graveyard Book. He just has an interesting way of writing and a really unique perspective.

  2. In order: Stardust, Secret History

  3. Pingback: Stacking The Shelves & The Sunday Post (February 27th) | thebookbrief

  4. I read two books by Donna Tartt last year and The Secret History became my favourite book of the year! So definitely Donna Tartt!
    But Patrick Ness is amazing as well, and so is Neil Gaiman 😂 short answer: Read them all!!!

    • Haha, that’s the long aim but it takes time with lots of other books to read tol! Aiming for one in March and it may well be The Secret History as it’s the one that’s been on my list the longest and it’s getting some good recommendations!

  5. go for Gaiman, both of the books you’ve listed are great and he has so many more 🙂 I love his writing. Obviously not all of it, but the ones I’ve read for now were, at least, 4-star reads

Leave a Reply

