Stacking The Shelves (January 2nd) + New Year reading plans

stackshelves

The rules of Stacking The Shelves

  • Participants are to create their own Stacking the Shelves post and link back to Tynga’s Reviews so more people can join the fun!
  • Posts can be laid out any way you want.
  • The host site posts updates on a Saturday but bloggers taking part can post any day they choose.
  • Visit Tynga’s Reviews on a Saturday and add your link.
  • Visit other participants sites to find out what they have added!

It’s the first Stacking The Shelves of 2016! I received no books for Christmas (boo!) although I did get a little money which may well go on treating myself to a hardback copy of Cecelia Ahern’s new novel, The Marble Collector. In the meantime, I’ve been stocking up on Kindle Deals the last couple of weeks so I’ve got quite a few to get through! As usual, if you want to know more about any of the books listed, just click on the cover image to go to the Goodreads page

 

Bought (Kindle)

danishgirl prettybaby

lastletter monogram

handlewithcare thefarm

maze thecity

A nice variety of books here – and The Maze Runner is the complete series!

For Review

girlyoulost darkestsecret

2016 Reading

I figured now would also be a good time to talk about my reading plans. I was absolutely appalling at reading over Christmas – I’d envisaged myself curled up by the fire with a book and nice hot chocolate, but it just didn’t happen – me and my partner was just too busy.

I’ve been re-reading Harry Potter over Christmas, but I’m hoping to finish the book I’m on today, and start one of my ARCs. Either This Is Where It Ends, The Darkest Secret or The Poison Artist, which are all out in January. I also still have review copies of some 2015 releases, The Colour Of Our Sky and Our Endless Numbered Days, so there’s plenty of  books to get through! If you’ve read any of these and have a recommendation, please let me know?

That’s not even considering my Kindle hoard – I currently have over 80 unread books on there, and I’m aiming to prioritise reading books I already own this year so hopefully that number will start to go down.

As always, I aim to read a diverse range of fiction books. Last year, I attempted to take part in the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge but by halfway through the year I’d left it abandoned under the pressure of a growing pile of ARCs. This year, I’m just aiming to read a good mix of genres and authors – both old favourites, new-to-mes and debuts.

Another aim is to make more time for reading at home – most likely before bed. I usually read on my commute, and I think that’s partly why my reading has suffered so much over the holidays. An empty window of time spent on a train provides a perfect reading opportunity, but I want to make more effort to make time for myself to read at home. I’ve increased my Goodreads challenge this year to 70, after reading a total of 61 books last year, so I’ll need some more time!

Have you made any reading resolutions? What have you added to your shelves this week? And what would you recommend from the above? Let me know! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Book Memes, Stacking The Shelves

3 responses to “Stacking The Shelves (January 2nd) + New Year reading plans

  1. Nice books, I am an Agatha fan also!!

  2. I really want to see the Danish Girl movie… I didn’t know it was a book!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  3. vvb

    Reading over the holidays was the same with me. This year I plan on scheduling less or no reviews in December for less stress. I wanted to read the Danish Girl before watching the movie. Turns out I will see the movie first. Just not enough time in the day… Good luck with the book resolutions and happy reading 😉

Leave a Reply

