Stacking The Shelves & The Sunday Post – October 17th

stackshelves

SundayPost

This week I’m linking up with Stacking The Shelves and The Sunday Post by Kimba The Caffeinated Book Reviewer . These memes are both about sharing the books added to your shelves this week, and/or events on the blog.

I’ve been bad at blogging recently as I’ve just been too busy! I’m making up for it today though with a big Stacking The Shelves/Sunday Post. I didn’t realise how many books I’d managed to accumulate over the last few weeks! As usual, if you want to know more about any of the books listed, just click on the cover image to go to the Goodreads page.

 

Bought (Kindle Deals)

firesermon christmas darker book of you thebeeswomaninblack proposal annaand snowdrops cnverityjoehill

 

It seems to always go this way at the moment…I don’t post a STS for a few weeks, occasionally picking up the odd Kindle deal (so I think) then the next Saturday comes around and oh! It turns out I have lots of new books. Some of these are daily deals, but the top row were from the autumn sale, so if you’re interested in any of the first five books, they should still be on offer!

So, I’m getting in the mood for Christmas with a lot more chick lit than usual! (The Proposal, Christmas At Tiffanys and Anna And The French Kiss). I used to love the chick lit/rom com genre of books but I’ve read a lot less of it in recent years. I’m hoping these books have that warm fuzzy feeling I’m looking for around the festive season.

There’s a few books here which have been high on my TBR for a while so I was pleased to get them on offer – The Book Of You, Code Name Verity, The Bees and A Darker Shade of magic all look amazing! And, I think I’ll read classic The Woman In Black or maybe Joe Hill’s NOS4A2 around Halloween.

For Review (Netgalley)

where it ends

I’m trying to take a break from Netgalley for a while to work through my own books without the pressure of release dates and reviews, but I requested this one a little while ago and it just came through. A YA contemporary around a school shooting; it’s topical and controversial, and if it’s done well I think this could be one to look out for in 2016.

 

Currently Reading
ATBP

I started this yesterday and I’m pretty much halfway through today (which is pretty good for me as I’ve been super busy). I’m really enjoying it, but reserving full judgement until I’ve finished – I’m  intrigued to see where it all ends up.

 

On The Blog Last Week

BES  brokenpromise

Teaser Tuesday – Black-Eyed Susans

Broken Promise, Linwood Barclay – Book Review

Coming Up Next Week

martian  BES

I’ve written my review for The Martian (spoiler: I loved it) but I’m going to see the film today so may add a bit to it and then post it tomorrow. Then I’m hoping to get my review for Black-Eyed Susans completed too and it’ll be up later next week along with a Teaser Tuesday (on Tuesday)!

 

What have you added to your shelves this week? And what would you recommend from the above? Let me know! 🙂

23 Comments

Filed under Book Memes, Stacking The Shelves

23 responses to “Stacking The Shelves & The Sunday Post – October 17th

  1. Wow, you have some fab books in your post this week! 🙂 I can highly recommend Code Name Verity, it’s a brilliant book. I have This is Where It Ends on my wishlist already, it sounds like an interesting read. I’ll look out for your thoughts on All the Bright Places, I have this on my TBR but haven’t got around to reading it yet.

    I’ve just clicked to follow your blog so I can keep up with your book posts 🙂

    Here’s my post: https://rathertoofondofbooks.wordpress.com/2015/10/17/my-weekly-wrap-up-and-stacking-the-shelves-2/

    • Thanks for visiting and following! I’m looking forward to Code Name Verity, heard some good things about it 🙂 And All The Bright Places is good so far!

  2. tsukikomew89

    I really want to read “A Darker Shade of Magic” but I had trouble getting into it the first time I tried. Hopefully you have better luck. Happy reading!

    Tsuki’s STS

    • Ah sorry you didn’t get on with it, I’ve heard so many good things about it but I haven’t tried the author before so will have to see! Thanks for visiting 🙂

  3. I keep seeing Snow Drop pop up. Maybe I need to check it out as it sounds like something I might enjoy.

    • It’s got some mixed reviews but was nominated for the Man Booker a few years ago so I’m going to give it a try. I like the idea of a dark, wintry thriller over winter! Thanks for visiting 🙂

  4. I loved Black-Eyed Susans….and I’ve been eyeing All the Bright Places. Enjoy! Thanks for visiting my blog.

  5. I loved the Martian too, can’t wait to read your thoughts about it!

  6. Genea @ My Heart Beats For Books

    I love getting finding those Kindle deals. Have NOS4A2 by Joe Hill on my kindle, haven’t gotten to it yet. Happy reading! 🙂

  7. Wow so many amazing books! I hope you enjoy Anna and the French Kiss, it’s adorable 😀

  8. I didn’t love Anna and the French Kiss as much as everyone else seemed to, but maybe you’ll really enjoy it. I did LOVE Code Name Verity. It took me a bit to get kind of hooked into it, but once I did man I loved it! Hope you enjoy them all!

    SP
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  9. The Martian rocked. You got some great books! I picked up NOS4A2 on audio. Hope your week is amazing!

  10. Code Name Verity was awesome!
    Enjoy your books 🙂

    Sugar & Snark – Latest haul

  11. I hope you enjoy finishing All The Bright Places, I did like it! A really want to read A Darker Shade of Magic, it sounds fantastic! Happy Reading 🙂

    My StS

    Ashley @ The Quiet Concert

    • I am liking it at the moment! And yeah I think I’ll have to read A Darker Shade Of Magic soon I’ve heard lots of good things about it! Thanks for visiting 🙂

  12. The Book of You looks good, and I’ve heard good things about Black Eyed susans too.

  13. You got a lot of new books these past few week. Just like you I think I only got a few books and the when i list them all in my sunday post I realize how many of them I got. I am into the cozy mystery genre lately and picked up some christmas romances. This is Where it Ends sounds interesting. I saw it on netgalley, but wasn’t sure if it was a book for me. Have a great week!

  14. LOVE the look of stacks of your books – so much book envy. There are a couple I recognise and a couple I’ve read.

    I haven’t read The Martian but actually saw the movie last week and loved it!

  15. Awesome haul! I LOVED ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS! Have you read it before? I can’t wait to read This is Where it Ends and All the Bright Places. Enjoy! 🙂

  16. The Martian is the best. I really fancy The Bees but just not gotten around to pressing that button, it looks good!

    Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

