The One (The Selection #3), Kiera Cass – Book Review

I received a copy of this from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

View on Amazon

I’ve been quite judgemental when reading and reviewing this series, but this one I read over a lazy weekend and it was perfect for what I needed. Yes, some of the characters are extremely frustrating and some of the plot developments seem a little too convenient, but it’s fun. I feel the writing has improved some since the beginning of the series, and having got to know the characters over the first two books I was excited to get back to Maxon, America and the other Elite.

The One

This book picks up the ante as both the Selection process and the unrest from the rebels are coming to a head. America can still be obnoxious, but she’s finally beginning to calm down and realise want she really wants. Her character has definitely developed in this book; she’s learnt to hold her tongue a little more and consider the bigger picture rather than her own self-centred view. Or maybe I just got used to her, and enjoyed the story regardless? The rest of the Elite are also fleshed out a little more – with a certain girl making a complete 360 change of personality – and there’s a sense of a real bond being forged between them all, which was nice to see.

While there is a little more action, at its heart this series is definitely all about the romance, and this one really doesn’t let us down in this regard. Yes, it’s a little bit cheesy but it’s just so adorable. I couldn’t help but smile, as the couple I’d been rooting for all along finally sorted out their issues.

“I want everything with you, America. I want the holidays and the birthdays, the busy seasons and lazy weekends. I want peanut butter fingerprints on my desk. I want inside jokes and fights and everything. I want a life with you.”

It’s quite a short review from for this one as I just don’t have that much to say about it, but this series is the perfect indulgence; it’s not particularly memorable but in the moment it sweeps you into the fairytale romance and leaves you with a smile. This ending to the trilogy which follows America’s selection is a predictable in places but wholly satisfying – I really did enjoy it.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Drama, Dystopia, Romance, Young Adult

One response to “The One (The Selection #3), Kiera Cass – Book Review

  1. I felt the same way; the series is mostly easy to read but not ground shattering stuff.

Leave a Reply

