Top Ten Tuesday | Top ten authors I’ve read the most

TTT

This is my second time participating in Top Ten Tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish. I thought it was a nice subject which any book blogger can easily respond to, but when I started thinking about it, I realise I haven’t actually binge-read that many authors! There’s plenty I’ve read 2 or 3 of but not many more than that, and the past year or so I’ve been reading a lot of ARCs and debuts. But, I’ve completed my list with a few childhood favourites.

 

22306049

Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult has perhaps been and remained one of my favourite authors the longest. Her books are so beautifully written, emotive and well-researched; she tackles issues from WWII to high school shootings through to the nature of elephants with ease, wrapping them up in emotional, compelling dramas.

 

19196719

Stephen King

I first discovered Stephen King only a few years ago when I read 11.22.63. It’s might seem like a strange one to start with, but I’d recommend it to any reader who is thinking of trying his work but isn’t overly keen on horror, as it isn’t horror at all. I was hooked after that, and started (feebly) working my way through his back catalogue. I’ve now read maybe about 7 or 8 of his books (I know, I said it was quite feeble – but he has an intimidating collection to get through!) I’ve got many more waiting on my shelves to be read.

 

sh

Sophie Hannah

This had to make this list; I went through a huge phase of just devouring Sophie Hannah’s thrillers. There’s just something a little bit different about them – they’re clever, like puzzles – a little like a modern Agatha Christie (which is perhaps why she wrote the new Poirot novel, The Monogram Murders?)

 

memories

Cecelia Ahern

I first read Cecelia Ahern after watching PS. I Love You in university and there’s no doubt now that she is my favourite romance/chick lit author of all time. Her books often rise above the standard romance, and have a touch of magic to them. They’re such a pick-me-up – like chicken soup for the soul.

 

968

Dan Brown

I’m not sure why I’ve read so much Dan Brown to be honest, but I have. His pacey action thrillers definitely add something different to the overcrowded thriller market as they’re always well-researched and littered with references to art, culture, history and codes. Some are a bit far fetched, and I’d definitely say that some are better than others, but his books always make for a fun read.

 

hp

J. K. Rowling

J. K. Rowling has to be one of the most successful writers of this generation, and rightly so. I discovered the Harry Potter series late in life – I didn’t really get into it so much in school – but now? Nothing can touch it. It’s probably the only reason I indulge in fantasy novels these days; it used to be a genre I just wasn’t interested in. And, her venture into crime with the Cormoran Strike series is pretty damn good too.

dancewithdragons

George R. R. Martin

I think just due to the amount of books in the A Song Of Fire And Ice Series, George R. R. Martin has to make this list. I am a HUGE Game Of Thrones fan (books and TV show), and if you haven’t ventured into the world of Westoros yet, I highly recommend it.

 

232187

Roald Dahl

The first childhood favourite to make my list – who doesn’t love Roald Dahl?! His books are all timeless classics; I’m pretty sure I read almost all of his books, although it was over 15 years ago now. It may be time for a re-read soon…

 

557187

Enid Blyton

So I read all the Famous Five books. Multiple times. Plus, The Faraway Tree, St Clares and whatever else was available. It’s amazing how this author has lasted through the generations – the Famous Five TV series (based on books mainly written in the 1940s and 1950s) came out in 1995, and me and my friends loved it! I even bought the videos. (Yep, as in VHS.)

 

462684

Jacqueline Wilson

Another author I devoured as a kid – from Tracey Beaker to the Girls series, I loved this author. I even have a signed copy of one of her books!

 

Which authors have you read the most of? Let me know in the comments!

8 Comments

Filed under Book Memes, Top Ten Tuesdays

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday | Top ten authors I’ve read the most

  1. Nice list. 🙂
    I definitely need to read some more Stephen King novels. I’ve got Carrie down as my next one to read..

  2. The sad thing is I have never gotten around to Jodi Picoult? Any must-reads in your opinion that you would recommend?

  3. i totally need to read more Picoult!
    My TTT

  4. I love GoT tv show so much and I should def get to reading it!!! Also, I’ve been wanting to read a Jodi book but there’s so much! Where do you suggest I start? DA VINCI CODE! My gosh this book is so intense. I LOVE IT SO MUCH ❤

Leave a Reply

