Top Ten Tuesday | Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

TTT

This week, I’m mixing things up a bit and taking a break from Teaser Tuesday and instead participating in Top Ten Tuesday by The Broke and The Bookish for the first time. Today’s prompt is top ten hyped books I’ve never read. I like it, so I’m giving it a go.

pi

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

I borrowed this from a friend around five years ago – she decided she wasn’t keen on it, so it’s totally okay that I kept it for that long – I definitely mean to read it and give it back one day, I just haven’t got round to it yet despite having had it recommended to me by so many people.

HH

Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams

My boyfriend absolutely loves this and highly recommends it – along with plenty of other people – but I’m just not sure it’s my cup of tea.

smokebone

Daughter Of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

I think when this originally came out and there was all the hype I wasn’t that into the genre, now I love the genre but I still haven’t got around to it, I’m hoping to soon.

Pride

Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

Confession: I tried it, I really did – I just didn’t really get it. It’s not that I don’t like classics, I’ve happily read other novels written around this era. I just didn’t like this one. It felt a bit…shallow? Maybe it’s just me.

lrd

Lord Of The Rings by J. R. R. Tolkein

Another one my boyfriend loves, but I’m just a little bit intimidated by this epic saga.

train

The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

I really really want to read this one. I’m just waiting for the price to drop on the Kindle store 😉 Is it worth the hype?

fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This one is majorly hyped on the blogosphere; I’m a little bit scared of not liking it. I read Rainbow Rowell’s Landline and thought it was just okay. But should I give her another chance with a young adult book?

maze

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I’ve seen the film, but I havent’ read the book! I really enjoyed the film as well, so I’m hoping to read this at some point.

stardust

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

I didn’t hear much about Neil Gaiman for ages, but as I got more into blogging he just started cropping up more and more. He’s definitely hyped. I’ve got this one on my Kindle and I’m really looking forward to reading it, I just haven’t got around to it yet.

giver

The Giver by Lois Lowry

This seems to be one of the original YA dystopian novels and, as a fan of the genre, I really should read it. But I saw the film and I wasn’t too keen. Should I give it a try?

What hyped up books have you not read? And which in list would you recommend? I’d love to hear – let me know in the comments!

12 Comments

Filed under Book Memes, Top Ten Tuesdays

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday | Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. You have to read Jane Austen keeping in mind that the author poking fun at society, so many of the characters are meant to be shallow. Something I usually don’t do for other books, but would recommend for Austen is to watch the BBC adaptation or even the more recent movie of P&P before reading the book.

    • Aah, to be honest that whole concept may have been a little lost on me when I was reading it. It’s been a couple of years since I tried it so I may have to pick it up again sometime!

  2. We have a few of the same books.

    I watched the movies for both the giver and the maze runner and while I enjoyed the maze runner movie I didn’t so much on the giver, but I might still give the books a try

  3. The Maze Runner film sparked some intrigue for me as well (because cliffhanger) to want to pick up the second book (though it hasn’t happened yet). But dang the release of second film’s trailer did make me consider starting the read for about a day haha.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

  4. Great list! Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and Fangirl were both wonderful books! I haven’t read Landline yet, but a ton of people who enjoyed Rowell’s YA books didn’t much care for Landline. So, I’d definitely suggest giving Fangirl a try! 😀

  5. I would read The Giver 🙂 it is a bit confusing but very worth it… and uh… it is a billion times better than the movie, I hated the movie… I haven’t read a lot of these either, but my sister ADORES James Dashner meaning she LOVES The Maze Runner 🙂
    Have a wonderful day!

  6. Much as I love Austen adaptations, I *cannot* get into the books. I think (for me), it’s the difference in language and style. But I did make it through ‘Sense and Sensibility’ and someone told me to try ‘Persuasion’ as it was their favorite because it’s was more “settled.” Didn’t love the ‘Maze Runner’ movie so I’m not likely to read that one. But ooo, yay for ‘Stardust.’ Not sure I’d read the book, but the movie is such a fun adventure. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon, Emma. Visit anytime. 🙂

  7. lry93

    Smoke and Bone is amazing! 🙂

  8. There are quite a few up there that I’ve actually read before. From what I hear about Rainbow Rowell’s books, Fangirl was a lot better than Landline. I loved Fangirl myself, but I haven’t read the other so I can’t really compare the two books.

    I think The Maze Runner movie was so much better than the book. I only gave it a 2/5 when I read it years ago. So if you do read it, I’d recommend using the library.

  9. dreamingthroughliterature

    Great list! The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is great, definitely has a ton of humor. I also loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone; I’m currently working my way through the final book in the series. Sorry to hear that you didn’t like Pride and Prejudice, but I understand that it’s not for everyone. I love The Lord of the Rings trilogy; it’s definitely intimidating though. I, too, am excited to read The Girl on the Train and Fangirl. The Maze Runner was a disappointment for me. I hated it and have no desire to pick up the rest in the series, but who knows, it may be right for you; so many people like it. And, finally, you should definitely read The Giver. I haven’t watched the movie yet cause it sounded like it was so different from the book. But, the book is definitely worth the read. Wow, sorry for the long comment! Happy Reading! I’m glad you participated this week 🙂

    • Ooh thanks for the insight into these books! You’re the first person I’ve heard didn’t like The Maze Runner, that’s interesting. I really liked the film so can’t see the book being worst I’d hope! And yeah I think I’m definitely going to have to try The Giver at some point. Thanks for visiting and for your long comment! 🙂

      • dreamingthroughliterature

        No problem haha. And it may have definitely just been a fluke that I didn’t like The Maze Runner. I just couldn’t connect with the writing. It just wasn’t for me, but I hope that you enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

