Stacking The Shelves #8

stackshelves

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, where book bloggers share the books they have added to their shelves that week.

The rules of Stacking The Shelves

  • Participants are to create their own Stacking the Shelves post and link back to Tynga’s Reviews so more people can join the fun!
  • Posts can be laid out any way you want.
  • The host site posts updates on a Saturday but bloggers taking part can post any day they choose.
  • Visit Tynga’s Reviews on a Saturday and add your link.
  • Visit other participants sites to find out what they have added!

As usual, if you want to know more about any of the books listed, just click on the cover image to go to the Goodreads page.

 

Bought (mini charity shop haul)

aboutaboy thegirls secondglance

I’ve always been intrigued by Nick Hornby, but never got around to reading any of his books. I enjoyed the film About A Boy, so I’m going to give the book a try. The Girls by Lori Lansens – a story of twin girls joined at the head – looks like something really unique , and obviously I’ll always pick up any Jodi Picoult I can get my hands on.

Bought (Kindle)

twoofus

This book is recommended for fans of One Day and The Rosie Project, so I’m in.

Borrowed (library)

us dragons alaska

I loved One Day by David Nicholls, and Us received a lot of hype last year and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize. The storyline of an older married couple didn’t hugely appeal to me, so I didn’t get around to buying it but when I saw it in the library I thought I’d give it a try.

I’m quite excited about getting back into the A Song Of Fire And Ice series. I started it years ago, when the first TV series came out, but I’ve had a long break as they are quite intense, hefty books. Now, I want to know what happens next! I’m also keen to try more of John Green after loving The Fault In Our Stars.

For Review

watersedge churchmarvels

Very excited about these two, thanks to the publishers and NetGalley! I loved Water For Elephants so I’m keen to see what Sara Gruen’s new novel has to offer, and Church Of Marvels is tipped to be one of the debuts of the year, and it’s been compared to Water For Elephants and The Night Circus!  And they’ve both got lovely covers! Yay!

So, quite romance and drama heavy this week, which I didn’t really intend but when these genres are done well they’re great! Any recommendations from the books above? And what did you add to your shelves this week? Let me know in the comments 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Book Memes, Stacking The Shelves

7 responses to “Stacking The Shelves #8

  1. So many lovely books! I also got Church of Marvels. It looks AMAZING!! I can’t wait to start it. Hope you enjoy all your books, and have a great week.

  2. Great selection of books! I’m currently reading The Fault in Our Stars now, great book. I’ve added some novels to my shelves which were part of a battle of the books competition called Canada Reads. 🙂

  3. Church of Marvels look so great. Adding it to my TBR! Nice post 🙂

  4. Oooh, I hope Looking for Alaska will work for you 🙂 I kinda DNF’d it because I was tired of hearing about ”amazing” Alaska xdd

  5. Awesome haul this week, enjoy your books!

    Come and check out OUaT’s STS and our 16 Blogoverary Giveaways!

  6. Church of Marvels sounds fantastic! Enjoy your books.

  7. Samantha @ Bundles of Books

Leave a Reply

