Five Novels About War

As commemorations for the WWI centenary kicked off earlier this month, I thought it was time for a list. This list covers books about WWI and WWII. Obviously, there is a wealth of fiction and non-fiction based around the subject and these aren’t necessarily the best examples out there, they’re just a few that caught my eye.

 

1) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief

 

This novel has been around for a few years, but the film release earlier this year was what finally spurred me into reading it. If you haven’t read it yet, the centenary should be your catalyst. Narrated by death, this inspirational tale of a young girl, with a penchant for books, growing up in Nazi Germany is truly original. It won’t be one you forget in a hurry.

 

2) My Dear, I Wanted To Tell You by Louisa Young

my dear

My Dear, I Wanted To tell you is in essence a war romance, a genre I‘m generally not that keen on but when done well can be a treat. And this novel is done well. It follows Riley Purefoy and Nadine Waveny, a couple who meet young but are quickly torn apart by the outbreak of WWI. Spanning London, Paris and more this touching story focuses on how the war affected real lives and relationships.

 

3) Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

Life After Life

 

This book isn’t really about war, it’s about one woman’s life – one that happens to take place during WWII. Through the clever use of multiple alternative lives, we see many sides of the war as we follow the protagonist, from rescuing war victims in London, to fraternising with Hitler in Germany. But it’s much more than just a war novel and well worth a read.

 

4) The Lives Of Stella Bain by Anita Shreve

 

 

the-lives-of-stella-bain

Released this year to coincide with the centenary, this novel follows Stella Bain, a woman who is found unconcious on a French battlefield, with almost no memory;  knowing only that she can drive an ambulance, she can draw, and her name is Stella Bain. It’s not one I haven’t personally read, but it’s certainly caught my eye.

 

5. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult

storyteller

As I said in my review earlier this year, Jodi Picoult has a knack for tackling big, controversial issues and winding them into compelling, emotional stories. In this novel, she takes on the Holocaust, and she does it well. A shocking, heart-wrenching and well-researched novel from one of my favourite authors, this had to make the list.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Lists

2 responses to “Five Novels About War

  1. LK

    Great list! I just started The Book Thief today, and I haven’t seen the movie yet. How does it live up? I generally don’t gravitate towards war novels, but I sort of love how it’s being narrated.

    xxLK
    http://www.ellekae.com

    • Thanks! Yeah, the narration definitely makes it something a bit different!
      I haven’t actually seen the movie yet, still want to get around to it at some point, I’ve heard that it’s quite good but don’t think it does the narrative of death justice.

Leave a Reply

