It’s here!

Recently, I’ve been slacking on my reading and therefore my writing on this blog – but I’m back now and tonight I’m very excited about the release of Stephen King’s new novel, Mr Mercedes.  Since discovering Stephen King over the past year, I’ve become a bit of a fangirl so I made my first ever pre-order on Amazon and now I have it in my possession!

Mr Mercedes

Mr Mercedes is Mr King’s first ever ‘hard-boiled crime’ which just happens to be my favourite genre. This book is a bit of a first for him, as it proclaims to contain no element of the supernatural.

The description on Amazon reads:

A cat-and-mouse suspense thriller featuring a retired homicide detective who’s haunted by the few cases he left open, and by one in particular – the pre-dawn slaughter of eight people among hundreds gathered in line for the opening of a jobs fair when the economy was guttering out. Without warning, a lone driver ploughed through the crowd in a stolen Mercedes. The plot is kicked into gear when Bill Hodges receives a letter in the mail, from a man claiming to be the perpetrator. He taunts Hodges with the notion that he will strike again.

Hodges wakes up from his depressed and vacant retirement, hell-bent on preventing that from happening.

Brady Hartsfield lives with his alcoholic mother in the house where he was born. And he’s preparing to kill again.

Only Hodges, with a couple of misfit friends, can apprehend the killer in this high-stakes race against time. Because Brady’s next mission, if it succeeds, will kill or maim hundreds, even thousands.

And, if that doesn’t get you excited you can even watch a trailer here.

I’m off to get started…watch this space for a review coming soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under General Book Musings

Leave a Reply

