5 Love Stories Which Will Make You Cry

Okay, so I’m a little bit late. But what with it being Valentines Day last week and love being in the air, I thought I’d go with the theme and put together a little list of my favourite romance novels. Read them and weep.

One Day, David Nicholls

David Nicholls’s smash hit takes a slightly unusual approach; following a couple over 15 years but only on one day each year. We follow Dexter and Emma’s lives on the 15th July, every year from 1988 up to near present day. It’s a clever way to pack years of their life into one novel and, whilst it may sound disjointed, it actually reads brilliantly. The story is truly touching, the characters are deep and believable and this book is sure to make anyone with a heart laugh and cry.


PS I Love You
PS. I Love You, Cecelia Ahern

I have quite a big soft spot for Cecelia Ahern. PS. I Love You was the first book of hers I read and it stayed with me for years. It follows Holly, who has just lost her husband Gerry and is getting ready to face turning 30 alone. But she finds that Gerry has left a series of notes and gifts behind, which are delivered to her monthly helping her regain confidence and face life without him. Of course, each is signed PS. I Love You. What could be a more lovely and tear jerking idea a story?

The Time Traveller’s Wife, Audrey Niffeneger

This is one of the few books that I’ve read more than once. For me, it’s worth all the hype. The Time Traveller’s Wife is a romance at its core, but that romance is wrapped up in a fantastical story of a man who is born with a genetic condition which means that he travels through time involuntarily, never knowing where he will end up. It’s a truly original story which is brilliantly told and if – for some bizarre reason  – you haven’t yet read it, I recommend you get your hands on a copy.

Water For ElephantsWater For Elephants, Sara Gruen

I only finished this book recently so it’s extremely fresh in my mind, but it is a gorgeous story. Water For Elephants follows Jacob, both as an old man and a 23-year-old who ran away on a circus train and met the girl of his dreams. But there’s a lot more to it than that – it depicts every element of a 1920s circus perfectly the twists and turns along the way elevate this to more than just a love story, but a modern fairy tale.

Me Before You, Jojo Moyes

Like PS. I Love You, Me Before You is a more lighthearted romance which has elements of comedy, but it tackles a seriously heart wrenching topic. It follows Lou who, after drifting between jobs for years, take on the role of carer for a quadriplegic young man. The two grow close and learn how to help each other make the most of life, but is it enough to deter him from his aim to end his life? Make sure you have some tissues ready for the last few chapters of this one!

 

I hope you all had a lovely Valentines day! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Lists

Leave a Reply

